h1

photo organisation

February 10, 2008

A few days ago, Monique & Suzannah asked about my new photo system. With over 3 years of digi photos, it was getting difficult to find things & I needed something more than a hodge podge “edit” folder. So I used the family fun library categories from Stacy Julian’s Big Picture Scrapbooking to set up a photo library. It’s a work in progress, so I’m keen to see the ideas in her new book photo freedom (& think about the next BPS class).

This is how it works atm.

  1. original files (aka. digital negs) are stored chronologically
  2. anything that’s been edited, is “saved as” a tiff file in the photo library (nb. I keep the original number from the camera ie. _mg_1234.tiff so it’s easier to track back to the original file)

My photo library categories are:

  • all about us (contains individual folders + relationship folders)
  • people we love (ext. family + friends)
  • celebrations (easter & xmas + xtras)
  • places we go (near & far)
  • things we do
  • school of life
  • photos i love

This year, most of the photos I’ve edited have been for project 365+1, so they’re stored in a special project folder atm. I also have a “blog” folder for web images. The great thing with a digital system is that photos can easily be placed in multiple folders. So the project 365 photos will eventually be sorted into library categories too. The thing I love about this new system, is how much easier it is to find things. Like finding 10 favourite photos of Miss M – so much easier when all her photos are in one file. The other interesting thing is making connections – like seeing how her smile has changed over the years.

That’s about it – it’s far from perfect, but it’s a start.

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

6 comments

  1. so you’ve moved and I didn’t know!! now I know where to find you!


  2. Thats a great way to organise your photo’s….i am desparate to organise my photo’s…they seem to be everywhere!! And hubby gets sick of them “just on the computer”, he wants to see them in albums….yeah right, if he wants to buy about 500 albums to fit them all in, lol!!!
    So is the photo library online or just on your “puter?
    …Char…


  3. Hmmm… yea… photos organized? I’m definitely not there yet. I have… oh, probably 1,000+ photos on various CDs and none of them are searchable. I’d love to get them all organized.

    Can you cross reference the photos? Say, I have one of my daughter in Washington DC. I can find the photo in a category for my kids and also in a category for places?


  4. Oh! I wanted to add a thank you for your kind comments on my photoblog. It made my day. 😀


  5. Sounds altogether very sensible Charleigh… really!

    So are you starting from here and going on or are you “retro-fitting” your older photos?

    And for the dummies in the class ( read: me) talk to me about tiff files (huh???)

    External hard drive? size?…. ummm I think that’ll do for today! LOL

    LOVED that photo of your coffee in your favourite cup…looks soooo goood!
    Take care


  6. Thanks for that! 🙂 Will look into it or create something here …. 🙂 Need more organisation for sure. I have started creating a ‘blog’ file for those that I alter etc for my blog – and they are in each ‘months’ file I have. But I can see room for improvement! 🙂



Leave a Reply

