h1

local wildlife

March 24, 2008

This is one of the goannas that wanders through our house yard each day. One of the good things about having them around is they’re territorial & tend to keep the snakes away! They’re also quite fascinating to watch!

Yes it really is a camel! Our neighbours purchased several camels about 10 years ago to try & control the prickly acacia (an invasive weed). They’re in a huge paddock & you don’t often see them so I was pleased I had my camera with me today!

2 comments

  1. okay – I don’t know if I could handle the goanna in my yard every day! 🙂 Hope you had a good long lense!! 🙂 Love the camel photo!


  2. Wow…..i love that “sand” cake! I thought it was too before i read it wasn’t, lol!!
    Thats a great shot of the goanna…what lens did you use?? Hope you had a nice relaxing break over Easter
    …Char…



Leave a Reply

